Day 102: Random ramblings

15 04 2010

In yesterday’s post, I promised to upload some of the audio files I recorded last night during the mayoral candidates’ bike forum. I learned today that the iPhone voice recorder that I used to record the interviews apparently has a file size limit. Each file is too large to email to myself in order to include them here on the blog. So my apologies for not uploading them. I guess even iPhone technology has its limits. Instead, I decided to post some random things that have occurred in the last 24 hours.

1. As a photographer, I try to balance “getting the shot” with treating people with respect. I don’t invade people’s privacy and I don’t argue with police or security guards if I’m questioned about my actions (such as the times I was questioned when shooting at a horse farm, a hotel lobby, and a local water tower – all of which turned out fine with me getting the shot I wanted and without getting arrested). I tend to photograph architecture and nature more often than people, but when I do occasionally photograph people I try to be obvious about it to help put them at ease. If they ask me not to photograph them, I don’t.

Yesterday, as Carrick and I were heading to the mayoral candidate bike forum, we passed a woman on a bike carrying a small dog in a backpack on her back. The dog looked quite content and comfortable zipped up securely in the bag with his head sticking out, ears blowing in the wind. The woman stopped next to us at a traffic light. We rolled down the car window and Carrick had her iPhone ready to take her photo. When we asked, the woman smiled and politely shook her head and her hand “no.” She didn’t scream, cuss us out, or spray us with pepper spray. Instead she was very friendly and said, “No photo please, but thanks for asking.” It’s nice to know there are still friendly, tactful people out there. I’m still disappointed we didn’t get the photo though. It would’ve been a good one.

2. My web analytics software shows me how visitors arrive at my website by typing in various search terms. This result struck me as funny (I’m the 4th listing):

3. There don’t seem to be enough hours in the day. Every night after work, I plan to go for a nice long ride but I can never find the time until the weekend. This weekend I plan to do a group ride with one of the local bike groups. I saw this blog post on Bicycling magazine’s website by pro cyclist Phil Gaimon about how to balance regular life with cycling life. I’m still working on that. How do you balance the two?

Today’s starting weight: 149

Breakfast:
— Organic whole wheat english muffin with Nutella = 294 cal.

Lunch:
— 2 pieces pizza = 676
— Iced tea = 0

Dinner:
— Salad with ranch dressing = 163
— 1 soft pretzel = 483

Life is a journey. Enjoy the ride!

          _O
        \<,
…( ) / ( ) 

Thanks for visiting!

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 04 2010
Apertome

Seeing what search terms bring people to your site can be quite amusing.

Technically, if someone is in public, you don’t need their permission to photograph them. That said, I generally err on the side of respecting people’s wishes, also.

As for balance, it’s tough, isn’t it? I struggle with that a lot myself. For the past several years, my main obsession has been cycling, but I have been known to dive deeply into other hobbies as well. Fortunately, photography and biking go well together. However, writing music (one of my other hobbies) is something you can’t do on a bike.

And more importantly, time spent riding is time spent not being with my wife, whom I adore. So, that can be a tough call.

If you ever figure out the key, let me know.

20 04 2010
cyclingproject365

I’m glad to hear I’m not alone in having difficulty finding time for everything I want to do. You’re right – photography and cycling do seem to go well together. I rarely go on a ride without taking my cell phone, my pocket-size digital camera and my Flip video. Times when I’ve forgotten my camera when I leave the house is always when I see something I want to take a photo of. If I ever run across information on how to balance life with hobbies and not enough hours in the day, I’ll be sure to let you know. 🙂 Thanks for visiting and for your comment. Take care.

20 04 2010
Apertome

Might I make a suggestion, then? It seems to me there could be a lot more photos on your blog … or at least a flickr page with your photos. Looking through your site, I don’t see many, you should show off your photography!

20 04 2010
alice

Very good point. I originally planned on putting a lot more photos, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’ve been lazy. Bad, Alice! 😉 In the right sidebar blogroll, I included a link to My Life in Focus, which is my photography website (but you wouldn’t know that without me mentioning it). Feel free to take a look. Hopefully soon I’ll make time to create a Flickr page with photos I’ve taken on various bike rides. I’ve enjoyed looking through your Flickr photos (I added you as a contact). At the least, I’ll try to start including some more in the regular posts. Thanks again for your comments, Michael. Keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

