Day 126: 100 Miles of Nowhere – The Day After

9 05 2010

As I’ve mentioned previously, yesterday was the 100 Miles of Nowhere ride. The annual event was started by Elden from fatcyclist.com. The ride is capped at 500 participants, so I sent our registration fee in early to make sure we had a spot. (Fees go directly to Team Fatty’s LiveStrong challenge). Elden states that the ride can be done anywhere and can be any number of miles. Despite the name of the ride, participants don’t have to ride 100 miles if they don’t want. Our goal was to each ride at least 50 miles, but we figured if we were even considering riding the entire 100 miles, we needed to allow ourselves plenty of time and start the ride when the cemetery opened at 8:00 a.m. 

We started the day at 6:30 a.m. I’m not a morning person. Especially that early on a Saturday. After getting dressed, walking the dog, fixing breakfast, pumping up tires, checking brakes and chains and taking one last pee break, we headed down the street to the neighborhood cemetery. The outer perimeter of the cemetery is 1.3 miles of mostly flat pavement with not much traffic to worry about, so it’s a great ride. 

St. Michael's Cemetery

 

The temperature was 52 degrees – much cooler than we expected due to a storm that passed through the night before. It was a beautiful day – perfect for a bike ride. With the exception of 30 mph winds that we had to fight against all day. Before we had completed our first lap, Carrick’s bike emitted a weird buzzing sound. We stopped to find a twig sticking between her spokes and front fork. We pulled it out with no harm done. Problem solved. (Whew!) 

A beautiful day for a ride

 

During the next lap in almost exactly the same stretch of road as the twig through the spokes, we heard another noise. This time, it was the unmistakable sound of something metal falling off a bike and hitting the ground. Not good. We turned around to search for whatever it was that fell off, hoping it wasn’t something horribly important. It turned out to be the cover from the nose piece on Carrick’s sunglasses. The screw came loose and the entire piece fell out. Luckily, the tiny screw was still attached to the nose piece, otherwise we’d have never found it. Once we completed our first 10 miles, I headed back to the house to fix her glasses, get something to eat, and take another pee break. (I discovered the drawback to riding in cooler weather is that I don’t sweat out the fluids I take in, so it requires more frequent pit-stops.) 

By mile 25, I was starting to get hungry. Really hungry. We decided to go home for lunch and a short break. Peanut butter and jelly with a glass of chocolate milk gave me the energy boost I needed to get back out there and do more laps.   

The wind was really making the riding a struggle at times. But I kept telling myself I could complete what I set out to do. I’ve never been on a ride farther than 35 miles (and that ride was last October), so I was determined to do at least 50 miles to prove to myself I could do it. 

By mile 40, I was ready for it to be over with. I was tired, cranky, my shoulders were getting sore and I’d renamed the ride the “Torturous Monotony Ride.” Music helped though. I never ride my bike with headphones and an iPod unless I’m on the indoor trainer, but since we didn’t have to worry about urban traffic, we decided to break our own “no headphones” rule and listen to our iPods. It definitely helped. I can’t imagine trying to ride this far, around and around in a big circle with no music. I put my iPod on shuffle and rediscovered some good music I’d forgotten about. My iPod is one of the original models (the “brick”), so the battery doesn’t hold a charge for very long anymore. I made sure it was fully charged the night before the ride, but by the time I hit my last mile, the battery died. On one of my favorite Nine Inch Nails songs too. But at least it died on a good song that was stuck in my head for a while. 

"No whining"

 

I intended to try riding more than 50 miles, but by the time I got to 50, I was so tired of fighting the wind that I decided to stop. I did what I set out to do. I rode my longest ride to date. It showed me that I can do something I thought might be a little out of my reach and it renewed my determination to get in better shape. I made it 50 miles and Carrick made it 65 miles, so between the two of us we covered the 100 miles. Next year, I hope to be in better shape (and 20 pounds lighter) so I can do the entire 100 miles. 

Alice's 50th mile.

 

Carrick's 65th mile.

 

Screenshot from the iPhone's LoseIt app.

 

WOW! I burned an entire day’s worth of calories! I should do this more often. Oh, and by the way – when I stepped on the scale this morning to weigh, I expected to see I’d lost at least a pound. Nope. Not. One. Freaking. Pound. Oh well, at least I had fun (for the most part). 

Thanks to Carrick for doing this with me and thanks to Elden at fatcyclist.com for making this an annual event with the money going to a great cause. Here’s a short video summary of the ride: 

Today’s food journal: 

Breakfast:
— Panera sesame bagel = 289 cal.
— Strawberry banana smoothie = 250 

Lunch:
— Chocolate Builder Bar = 270 

Dinner:
— Large baked potato = 163 

Snack:
— Skinny Cow cookies & cream ice cream cup = 120 

Life is a journey. Enjoy the ride! 

         _O
        \<,
…( ) / ( ) 

Thanks for visiting.

Actions

Information

7 responses

10 05 2010
Apertome

Well done!

Sounds like a very monotonous way to do your longest ride ever, though. Next time try covering 50 miles of ground, seeing the sights along the way … it’s a lot more pleasant! But, you would probably have to deal with some hills, too.

By the way, a pound is equivalent to about 3500 calories, so if you had lost a pound or more, you would know it was through perspiration. Being dehydrated will make you weigh less, but your weight will return to normal once you restore fluids.

10 05 2010
cyclingproject365

Thanks Michael! It was fun to do. Well, sort of. It was monotonous and got boring, but I’m happy with myself that I accomplished what I set out to do. Next time I plan on doing long rides by riding the distance so I’ll have a change of scenery and something pretty to look at. Hills would be okay. I’m improving on hills throughout my neighborhood and have been making myself ride hills so I can get better.

You’re right about the 3500 calories = a pound. Although it’s frustrating that I can burn off an entire day’s worth of my 1400 calorie allowance, watch what I eat that day and still not lose a pound. 🙂 It’s so easy to put on weight and so hard to get it off. Guess I just need to get back out there and ride more!

11 05 2010
Fat Cyclist » Blog Archive » 100 Miles of Nowhere: View of Lake Washington Division

[…] PS from Fatty: Want another story? Check out CyclingProject365’s excellent writeup! […]

12 05 2010
Keri @ Baby Spinach Steps

Hi! I’m a new reader and LOVING your blog — I have a secret desire to be a cyclist, just haven’t made in that far yet.

Your frustration with weight loss caught my eye. Last year I finally managed to lose 60 pounds (and keep it off so far – woo hoo!), and in that process I learned a few counter-intuitive things about weight loss that I thought might help you. The biggest thing is that your not be eating ENOUGH. I learned that you should never lower your calorie intake below 1200 — your body goes into “starvation mode” and actually latches on to the fat rather than burning it off. And, when you add vigorous exercise/training on top of that — like you have — you need to bump up your fuel intake significantly. As much as I used to think it was all about in and out – that is, burning more than I put in — it’s not…the way we eat effects our body’s hormone and chemical balances, which in turns effects whether or not we actually burn the fat. Weird, but fascinating, right?

That’s probably more than you wantd to know from a total stranger. 🙂 I was inspired by your project, though, and wanted to share what I learned in my own get-fit experience. I hope it helps. I would totally recomment the Eat-Clean Diet Recharged, by Tosca Reno, or Master Your Metabolism by Jillian Michaels, for more technical insight from the professionals. 🙂

12 05 2010
cyclingproject365

Thanks for your great feedback, Keri! I’m glad to hear you like the blog. Congratulations with losing 60 pounds! That’s awesome! I lost 25 pounds a few years ago and was back to my college weight, but I’ve since gained it all back and I’m now having a tough time losing it again. (Funny how that happened once I turned 40). 🙂

I’ve heard that too, about not going below 1200 calories a day. I try to stick to around 1400, but most days I seem to exceed even that. And I’m still addicted on dining out for dinner, so I think that’s my main problem that I can’t seem to break. And I need to exercise on a more regular basis. I should be doing some kind of workout 5 or 6 days a week (that’s how I lost weight a few years ago). I’ll check into the books you recommended. Thanks for mentioning those. And thanks for your feedback and encouragement! I hope you’ll visit again. Take care and be safe out there.

17 05 2010
Day 134: The 280-mile unicycle ride « Cyclingproject365

[…] 134: The 280-mile unicycle ride 17 05 2010 I thought the 100 Miles of Nowhere ride was monotonous, but this unicyclist is nuts. I’ve never heard of him before, but the […]

12 09 2010
Day 252: Sunday ride – 50 miles of the Louisville Loop « Cyclingproject365

[…] first 50-mile ride. Or second 50-mile ride if you count the 50-mile “round-and-round” 100-mile to nowhere ride we did back in May. Overall, it was a pretty fantastic day. This section of the Louisville Loop […]

Leave a Reply

