Day 151: Stickk.com – 4 steps to achieve your goal

3 06 2010

I’ve not been very successful with the weight loss thing so far. Actually, that’s an understatement. I’ve sucked at losing weight so far. I saw this article on MSNBC recently and after reading it, I’ve decided what I’m doing wrong: I should be getting someone to pay me to lose weight! Yeah, that’s it! Maybe if money was the incentive, I’d become more motivated. Here are a couple highlights from the article that I thought were interesting:

Psychologists say people are more motivated by the risk of losing their own money than by a chance they’ll win somebody else’s. Volunteers sign a contract agreeing to lose a certain amount of weight by a certain date or they forfeit their deposited money.

Using a twist of black humor, a company called StickK.com, sends the forfeited money from those who fail to an organization the customer despises. “The most popular is the George W. Bush Presidential Library,” said Sam Espinosa, a company spokesman. “Last year, we sent $6,000 to them.”

Sounds like a great idea. Now if I could just find someone willing to pay me to eat junk food, then I’d be rich!

On that note, I didn’t track the food I ate today. I’ll be back on the wagon tomorrow.

Life is a journey. Enjoy the ride!

          _O
        \<,
…( ) / ( ) 

Thanks for visiting.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

