Day 180: Bring on the Tour!

2 07 2010

It’s that time of year again! Time for the Tour de France! I’ve got the DVR programmed to record all the stages. As always, there is a boatload of information about the Tour, but several useful things have caught my attention this week, so I thought I’d share them here.

BikeNoob had a great post this week summarizing the Tour teams, what the team names mean and who their top riders are. Be sure to check out Part 1 and Part 2 of his post.
— I’m reading a great book about the history of the Tour: “Blazing Saddles: The Cruel and Unusual History of the Tour de France” by Matt Rendell. You can find out more about the book in my previous post here.
— Sports Illustrated had a good photo slideshow of the Top 10 riders in this year’s Tour.
MapMyRide’s Le Tour Challenge – ride your bike, map your route and register to win prizes. We’re registered and ready to roll. I’m planning to buy my clipless pedals this weekend, so I may be riding on the stationary trainer for a few days while I get used to the pedals. At least that way I can’t crash while I figure out how to unclip. 😉
Vive Le Tour socks from the Sock Guy – everyone should have a pair of these cool socks. We’ve bought several pairs of socks from Sock Guy. They’re comfy, they last forever and there are lots of funky designs to choose from.

I was lazy and didn’t keep track of my food journal today. I’ll get back on track tomorrow.

Life’s a journey. Enjoy the ride!

         _O
        \<,
…( ) / ( ) 

Thanks for visiting.

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 07 2010
Tim

Who will you be supporting over the next three weeks, Alice?

I’m intending to post a daily blog during the race, so please feel free to visit and comment. The final part of my four-part race preview is here:

http://thearmchairsportsfan.wordpress.com/2010/07/03/tour-de-france-preview-part-4-key-stages-and-prologue-preview/

Hopefully our paths will cross as the race progresses!

3 07 2010
cyclingproject365

Thanks for your comment, Tim. I visit your blog each day, so I’ll be sure to keep updated on the race. I’m a big Lance fan, so I’m rooting for him to win #8. How about you? Who are you rooting for? Cancellara would be my 2nd choice. (I despise Contador, so I’ll root for almost anyone other than him. Although he is a really strong rider.) It’s going to be an exciting race!

4 07 2010
Tim

As a Brit, I want Wiggins to do well in the GC, but to be honest it would be a great achievement for him to finish top 5 again. And I’d love to see Cav overcome his troubled season and take green (although my money’s on Hushovd). I know he’s spiky and not the most popular guy in the peloton, but the kid can ride like the wind when he sees a finish line!

For some reason I find myself drawn to Cadel Evans this year, who I have never previously liked but who fought tooth and nail at the Giro in a way I have never seen before. Levi, too – he is super-talented and one of the nice guys of the peloton, perhaps too nice for his own good. And, of course, I am always keen for Lance to do well. The romantic in me wants to see him win a stage, support Levi into yellow, and ride off into the sunset with the satisfaction of a job well done.

Leave a Reply

