Day 204: Back Bay Nature Preserve

26 07 2010

Today started with a beautiful sunrise on the beach around 5:30. I took a few photos out the window, then crawled back into bed for a couple more hours.

Carrick and her mom and I headed out on our bikes to explore the Back Bay Nature Preserve:
http://www.fws.gov/refuges/profiles/index.cfm?id=51510
(sorry for not linking the actual text. I’m doing these posts on my phone.)

It was a great ride on mostly gravel roads. I really enjoyed riding on something other than paved city roads for a change. Even when I take T-Rex (the MTB) out around town, I don’t tend to ride off-road. Just through the city. Today we had no traffic (other than a couple park rangers), a nice sunny day with temperatures in the low 80s and various types of wildlife: turtles, cranes, red-winged blackbirds, and others which I couldn’t identify. In all, it was a 16-mile round-trip ride.

We also heard about an old church and graveyard that were about 4 more miles in from where we turned around to head back to the house. We’re planning to head back again before the week is over to explore them. Maybe tomorrow.

Here’s a link to photos from today’s adventure:

Back Bay Wildlife Preserve

Life’s a journey. Enjoy the ride!

Thanks for visiting.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 07 2010
Alice

I’m not sure if links are displaying correctly since I’m doing these posts on my phone. If the photo links to Flickr aren’t working, try the “My Flickr Photos” link in the links area. (things will get back to normal next week).

2 08 2010
Day 211: Video and photos from Back Bay Nature Preserve « Cyclingproject365

[…] Day 211: Video and photos from Back Bay Nature Preserve 2 08 2010 I’ve finally downloaded all my photos and videos from our vacation to the beach last week. Now that I’ve had time to go through all of them, I realize I didn’t take as much video as I thought I had. But I did put together a short movie from our bike ride to the Back Bay Nature Preserve that I discussed here.  […]

Leave a Reply

