Day 210: “Landscapes of Cycling” and “Ghost Trails”

1 08 2010

When we returned from vacation yesterday, I was excited to see a box from Amazon waiting for me. In it, were two books I ordered recently: “Landscapes of Cycling” by Graham Watson and “Ghost Trails” by Jill Homer. 

Landscapes of Cycling by Graham Watson

 

Being a photographer, I’m always a big fan of nice coffee table photography books, so I figured I really couldn’t go wrong with “Landscapes of Cycling.” Published in 2004 by Velopress, “Landscapes of Cycling” is a collection of cycling photos by famed cycling photographer Graham Watson. From Switzerland, the Mediterranean, Ireland, Australia and many other locations, including of course the Tour de France, the book provides a beautiful tour of cycling’s most scenic areas. 

As I opened the box from Amazon, I noticed a large hole in one corner of the box. As luck would have it, it wasn’t the small paperback book (more on that in a minute) that was damaged — it was the $50 hardback photography book that was damaged on the corners of both the front and back covers. Each page inside the book is lightly crimped from the damage. I’ve reported it to Amazon and asked for a return/replacement, but I’ll be surprised if I hear back from them. Still, it’s a nice book that I’m looking forward to reading. 

Ghost Trails by Jill Homer

 

The other book I purchased was “Ghost Trails” by Jill Homer. Homer is the endurance cyclist/journalist/photographer behind the blog Up in Alaska (recently renamed Jill Outside). I’ve followed her blog for quite a while and it’s a wonderful summary of her explorations in Alaska, complete with beautiful photography. Raised in Salt Lake City, Homer was a self-described non-athletic person who moved to Alaska and eventually became an ultra-endurance cyclist, entering the 350-mile journey along Alaska’s Iditarod trail. As described on Amazon.com: “Ghost Trails is the true story of an ordinary person – timid, nonathletic, raised in the suburbs of Salt Lake City – and her unlikely route to one of the most difficult bicycle races in the world, a 350-mile epic along Alaska’s frozen Iditarod trail. Through her struggles and intimate confrontations with her fears and weaknesses, she discovers the surprising destination of her life’s trails.” She recently moved from Alaska to Montana to work as deputy editor of Adventure Cyclist magazine. 

Tomorrow, I’ll get back to keeping track of my daily food journal. I got out of the habit during vacation last week, but I did manage to not completely blow my diet while I was gone. I started Weight Watchers the day before vacation, but I’ll post more about that soon. 

Life’s a journey. Enjoy the ride! 

          _O
        \<,
…( ) / ( ) 

Thanks for visiting.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

