Day 323: Rush hour traffic snarls

22 11 2010

Tonight’s commute home from work involved stop-and-go traffic in all five lanes of I-264. What is normally a 15-minute drive (20 maximum) took close to 50 minutes. I’m not sure what caused the back-up, but it’s amusing (and aggravating) to watch the idiots who insist on weaving in and out of the backed up cars, jockeying for a “better” spot – only to get one car length ahead of where they were before. Morons.

As I sat in my car singing along with my Sirius radio, I wondered: “Why am I sitting here? Why have I not gotten off my lazy butt to commute to work on my bike?” I’m not really sure what my hesitation is. As I’ve mentioned before, my bike route to work would be through two beautiful parks. What better way to go to (and from) work than listening to the birds sing, smelling the fresh air and leaving behind the stress of the day, the traffic snarls and road-rage people while I pedal my way to my destination. I guess the idea of getting up early enough to leave the house by 6 a.m. is the only unappealing aspect of the idea.

Do you commute by bike to work? If so, how long is your commute and how early do you have to leave your house? What is your favorite part of bike commuting?

Today’s food journal:

Breakfast:
— Organic whole wheat english muffin with peanut butter = 3 points

Lunch:
– Jimmy John’s Slim turkey sandwich = 8 points
– Iced tea = 0 points

Dinner:
– Soft pretzel = 10 points
– Iced tea = 0 points

Snack:
– Skinny Cow ice cream = 2 points

Life’s a journey. Enjoy the ride!

         _O
        \<,
…( ) / ( )

Thanks for visiting.

Actions

Information

One response

23 11 2010
Tom

My commute is a bit shy of thirteen miles. The best part of it is when I get off Westport Road onto Rollington Road, a bucolic little strip of pavement (if that is not too much of an oxymoron) that gets me to Pewee Valley where I join KY 146 for a mile or so sprint to Crestwood (well, there is a bit more to it than that, but…).

I usually leave some time between 8:00 and 8:30, so that I can stop in Crestwood for a snack before opening the store at 10:00. I figure on about an hour of riding each direction, but it usually takes me closer to fifty minutes. I’ve done the homeward trip in forty-five on my long purple bike, and in thirty on my fast bike.

Leave a Reply

