Day 329: Balaclavas and cold weather cycling

28 11 2010

Today’s beautiful, sunny day more than made up for our rain-drenched ride on Thanksgiving Day. I slept in a bit this morning, and wasn’t sure I wanted to ride today considering the temperature was around 38 degrees. But not wanting to waste a sunny day, Carrick and I headed out for an easy 10-mile ride. I’m happy to report my base layer, wool socks, jersey, jacket, hat and gloves kept me warm and toasty so I’ve really got no excuse now to not continue cycling into the winter (at least until the snow comes – and then I plan to use my mountain bike). Carrick said she needs a warmer base layer, shoe covers and better gloves. Otherwise she said she felt great today.

My only question is what to wear to keep my neck and face warm. I know most people wear a balaclava. I’ve only tried mine once last winter — it made me a bit claustrophobic. I suppose that’s my only option though, for face protection. Maybe on the next cold ride I’ll give it a try. It’s a better option than not riding at all. Maybe with the balaclava I can pretend I’m a bike ninja. I’m pretty sure ninjas don’t get claustrophobia.

Do you wear a balaclava when cycling in the cold? Did it take some time to get used to it?

Life’s a journey. Enjoy the ride!

           _O
        \<,
…( ) / ( )

Thanks for visiting.

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 12 2010
Tom

I have a couple of silk balaclavas I found at Campmor.com. I find them just the thing–they cut the airflow off my lower face without adding huge amounts of heat retention when I’m riding. They aren’t expensive, either.

My commuting helmet has an optional winter liner that covers my ears and forehead, and reduces the airflow through the helmet a bit. I like it, but it’s nice to have something to cover my chin when it’s cold. A bandanna may work–especially if you can find one of microfiber.

2 12 2010
Alice - cyclingproject365

Good idea about the silk ones. I hadn’t thought of that. Maybe those would be more comfortable. And wouldn’t have a fuzzy lining to tickle my nose.

3 01 2011
srcycler

Just bought a balaclava but have not had a need for it here in Florida. I will be relocating to Northern Georgia soon and may need to use it up there.

Thanks for the info on cold weather riding.

Ride, Ride, Ride,

3 01 2011
Alice - cyclingproject365

Glad you found the post helpful! Thanks for visiting and for your comment. Good luck in your relocation! Stay warm and ride safe!

Leave a Reply

