Day 335: Powder coating an old bicycle frame

4 12 2010

During dinner tonight, Carrick and I were discussing what color to paint her old bike once we start the fixie conversion project. This site seemed to have good instructions on a do-it-yourself method, but if we’re going to go to the trouble to rebuild the bike ourselves, then we would hate to do a half-assed paint job on it. We figure that taking the frame to a bike shop for proper powder-coating is the best way to do it.

I’ve talked to a couple people who have recommended Vic’s Classic Bikes here in town. They apparently do powder coating and have many different colors to choose from. We’re going check it out tomorrow. I’m guessing other bike shops in town probably also do powder coating, so we’ll be calling around. If you have suggestions, please let me know.

Have you rebuilt a bicycle? If so, did you paint it yourself or get it powder coated?

Life’s a journey. Enjoy the ride!

           _O
        \<,
…( ) / ( )

Thanks for visiting.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 12 2010
Tom

I didn’t know that Vic’s does powder-coating on-site–it requires an oven large enough to hold the frame he’s coating, for one thing, and a booth with no air currents for applying the powder (some places use one “box” for both processes). If he doesn’t: I have had L&D Powder-Coating in LaGrange (although I think they are now in Pendleton) do a few frames for me over the years. I have one frame they did, and built two more custom recumbent bikes with powder-coating by L&D for other folks.

502-222-5390 is the last number I had for them. I doubt they would be open on Sunday, but you could probably leave a message for them.

5 12 2010
Alice - cyclingproject365

Thanks Tom. We checked at Vic’s today. You’re right, he sends it out to have painted (takes about 2 weeks). I wasn’t sure if he did them in-house or not. We’ll check with L&D. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

