Day 340: Weight Watchers’ PointsPlus system

9 12 2010

I have no more diet excuses. Today’s Weight Watchers meeting explained the new PointsPlus system — the first change in the points system in the past 13 years. As I understand it, points are calculated based on a food’s fat, fiber, carbs and protein content. (The previous system used calories, fat and fiber to calculate the points.) Now with the new plan, all fruits and most veggies are zero points. Foods with high starch content (for example, a potato) will have points even though it’s a vegetable. And “free” veggies include those that are steamed or raw, but a plate of collard greens cooked in fat would obviously not be zero points.

I’m still learning the details and I figure it might take me some time to get used to the changes, but overall I’m excited about the new program. And I’m happy to say that after three weeks of not weighing in and not tracking my foods, I ended up losing a pound. I’ve still got a long way to go and I’ve still got a lot of changes I need to make in my eating habits, but I think I’ve finally reached the point where I’m looking at this as a lifestyle change rather than constantly feeling like I’m on a “diet.”

Now if I can just lose another 7 pounds by Dec. 23, maybe I’ll end up winning some cool bike swag from Fat Cyclist.

Life’s a journey. Enjoy the ride!

           _O
        \<,
…( ) / ( )

Thanks for visiting.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 12 2010
Karen Diaz, RD

Good for you for looking at it like a lifestyle change! Best of luck!

10 12 2010
Alice - cyclingproject365

Thanks Karen! And thanks for visiting. I’m hoping the lifestyle change gets easier as the days go by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

