Day 361: My New Year’s Resolutions

30 12 2010

I can’t believe another year has already come and gone. And again, it’s that time of year to make New Year’s Resolutions. Normally, I make a resolution (or several), stick to it for a few weeks, then not really make much effort after that. But this year I owe it to myself to change those bad habits. I don’t really have much right to bitch about things if I’m not willing to put forth the effort to change. One of my favorite sayings is, “Nothing changes if nothing changes.” I’m ready to make the change.

This is my plan:

  • Recommit to Weight Watchers – I had hoped to be much closer to my goal weight by now since joining WW a few months ago. Really, it’s no one’s fault but mine that I’m not closer to my goal. The past several weeks I lost my focus and quit tracking my food. As of today’s weigh-in though, I’ve lost 11 pounds total. Not as much as I wanted by now, but at least it’s something. I’ve still got another 15 or so I’d like to lose.
  • Stop dining out – Eating dinner out every night is getting old. And expensive. Neither one of us particularly enjoys cooking, so we prefer to just stop at one of the local restaurants on our way home from work instead. We avoid fast food chains, but we’re still eating larger-than-normal portions and not knowing the calorie and fat content of foods makes it difficult to stick to a diet (such as Weight Watchers). Starting Jan. 1 we cook dinner at home and eat out for special occasions.
  • Cycle more – I need to set a weekly mileage goal and stick to it. Otherwise, I let other daily tasks take priority and before I realize it, another day has passed and I’ve not developed a regular exercise routine. My plan is to schedule time in my day to work out in the mornings before I go to work. Or ride my bike to work which would be much more fun than dealing with rush hour traffic on the interstate.
  • Reduce use of car for short errands – I need to use my bike for short errands around town (particularly those that are close to home). I need the exercise and saving on gas money certainly can’t hurt either. 

I’m ready for a new year and new habits. It’s time for me to stop making excuses and start making changes.

Life’s a journey. Enjoy the ride!

           _O
        \<,
…( ) / ( )

Thanks for visiting.

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 12 2010
Tom Armstrong

I’m with you on “life gets in the way of cycling,” Alice! I have friends who have half again more miles than I rode this year, and more of their miles are high-intensity, long distance stuff. I have nowhere near enough time to ride three centuries a month with my work schedule!

Still, I want to break the next thousand-mile level for 2011, AND add a few other non-cycling activities to round out the fitness program, so it looks like the cycling focus will have to be on riding to work more often than I have in 2010. Reducing car use for short-range errands is also a good way to both increase bike miles and improve one’s outlook on life. About a tenth of my 2010 miles were logged under “errands.”

Best results in the coming year!

31 12 2010
Alice - cyclingproject365

Life does have a way of getting in the way, doesn’t it? I’m impressed with your annual mileage milestone, Tom! Way to go! I plan to make a better effort this next year with increasing my mileage and cut down on using my car for everything. I think that will help a lot.

Hope you and Jenn have a great New Year!

Leave a Reply

